Assignment 1 Reworking – Documents

For the flip side of the bypass argument story my tutor suggested that I take some photographs of documentation in support of it to replace some of the images of traffic I have already taken.  I took inspiration in the way I approached these images from Ann Collier’s blunt style and I think it has worked well.  Taken under flash lights against a plain background, they are quite stark images which go well with the practicalness of the ‘for’ side of the argument.

Document wise, I decided to take photographs of the letter send by our local MP to all Sudbury residents, a local newspaper with a front page on the subject of the bypass and the case study report which was issued in March 2017.

Of these three images of the newspaper I prefer the middle one where the paper is sat at an angle on a landscape background.  This makes it seem as though it takes up a bit more of the frame than the third image does and has a little more dynamic to it than the first.  I think a little colour correction needs to be done if I use any of these images as there is a slight red tone to the background.  Saying that, all the other images in favour of the bypass are in black and white so I may convert to monochrome.  With regards to whether I would use these or not, I will need to have a look through the photographs I have ‘against’ the bypass to see if there is one it would partner well with.

I think this is my favourite of this set as I like the composition with the letter taking centre stage but the hand holding it giving it some human context.  I have deliberately blanked out the name and address on the letter to give anonymity to it and make it seem even less personal.  If I use the image then I will probably pair it with the photograph of the lady with her clipboard taken on the Valley Walk.

This image has a very similar composition to the one above though I don’t like it as much in portrait and am not keen on the envelope on the floor below.  This could be easily cropped or cloned out though if I wanted to use this photograph.

This image would come a close second, I like the way the focus is all on the official heading of the paper and although the text of the letter is not in focus it is still readable.

This image is my least favourite of the document images I took although I feel with a little tweaking of levels and shadows it could work quite well to pair with the images of the petition against the bypass taken on the pasting table.

SaveSave

SaveSave

Published by

speckledbec

Simple family creature who takes too many photos and eats too many biscuits

Leave a comment